How long before replacing your pen?

LaughingHyena

How long should you use a pen before replacing it. I ask because I have a novopen 4 which I've been using for around 9 months. I've wondered for a couple of weeks it it feels looser than my spare. I felt it was still clicking OK but the joint between the 2 halves seemed loose.

Mu numbers recently have not been that great, however will a couple of ilnesses and holiday meaning routine was all over the place I just assumed that was the problem. I did change the insulin in the time so I don;t think that was the problem.

This week I decided to swap to the spare pen, numbers have been great, could it really be the pen?

How long do you use a pen for and what signs of wear should I look out for before ditching the pen?

Jen&Khaleb

Dislikes
Not having enough time. Broken sleep.
I think the pens are meant to last a lot longer than they actually do. I've made a habit of replacing my son's every year. I had kept my first lot of pens a lot longer and when I changed it my son had a massive hypo. I do think there are times that I am a little rough on the pens. They have been dropped on occassion :oops: Since making a point of changing them every year or when they seem dodgy things so a lot more smoothly. I think you have done the right thing by replacing.

Snodger

some pens are better made than others. I have a humalog pen which I've had for years (at least 7 years) and it still looks new - it's a beautifully made device. I have a drawer full of rubbish pens for my lantus which have all broken or become unusable within about 6 months. the things that are most likely to go wrong are the pen top/lid becoming loose, and the dial-up numbers wearing away. I have never experienced problems with insulin delivery from old pens - I can usually see where they are breaking and throw them away before there are problems - but I haven't used the novopen 4 so I don't know if there's a possibility of it delivering wrong amounts.

Tracey167