How to clean lancet device?

Yogamommy5

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Hi,

I'm new to this. Diagnosed with Diabetes 2 a month ago. The instructions on my new multiclix device say to clean weekly with these expensive soft cloths you have to order online. As far as I can see they do contain alcohol. From the reviews I see these wipes are said to be quite dry. Is this why they say these are the only approved ones and others will damage the unit? Does anyone actually do this? Or can you just use alcohol wipes or what?

noblehead

Guru
Retired Moderator
Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump
Dislikes
Disrespectful people
I just use alcohol wipes and allow the lancer to dry before using.

Reactions: ME_Valentijn

DaftThoughts

Type of diabetes
LADA
Treatment type
Insulin
I rarely clean my lancet device. When I do it's with a plain alcohol wipe on the cap part that touches my finger. The most important thing is to use fresh lancets every time you test to avoid infections and tearing the skin. :) Cleaning is only really necessary if the cap is dirty or you've used it on unwashed fingers often.

Most caps are also just plain plastic and can withstand a rinse in soapy water if necessary, but as this depends on the device I'd doublecheck before doing that.

Most companies make "special cleaning products" just to up profits. In most cases generic cleaning alternatives work just as well!

D

Deleted member 308541

I wipe the end of my Multiclix with a alcohol wipe every now and again, usually when I put a new set of lancets in.

Yogamommy5

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Thanks! When I first started using the multiclix, I came close to ordering these crazy expensive wipes, but I couldn't afford the $60 and it gave me pause to think. It's bad enough that the strips are only partially covered and everything else is out of pocket (I live in Canada).

Dairygrade

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Dislikes
Having diabetes