Hypo's?

not-so-lucky

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Insulin
Hi, I'm new to insulin and touch wood I've not had a hypo yet... But wondering what is likely to happen and best way to react to it? I bought some glucose tablets recently as a precaution. Plus... Is it possible to sleep through one?

Thanks

ickihun

Master
Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Insulin
Dislikes
Bullies
I wake every time. For now.
My 3rd old wakes me too. He is sensitive to it as I had a few in pregnancy.

Some do get a resistance to hypos but I think its mainly due to your body experiencing a lot of low sugars so the body thinks its normal. I don't think it can be found once lost.

I take a med for blood pressure which disguises the symptoms but I'm experiencing the odd hypo after christmas indulgence.

Glucose tablets are good, I need 3 to sort out my hypos. After taking them you retest your sugar 2 hours later to check in range.

A hypo is a very shaky, prickily sweaty and disconcerting feeling. Your disoriented and sometimes I hear as if underwater. Well that's how I feel. It goes quickly on taking glucose.

Reactions: KezG

catapillar

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Hi, I'm new to insulin and touch wood I've not had a hypo yet... But wondering what is likely to happen and best way to react to it? I bought some glucose tablets recently as a precaution. Plus... Is it possible to sleep through one?

Thanks

You'll feel a bit weird. Try to test your blood sugar and treat your hypo with fast acting glucose (dextroseand tablets/glucojuice/fruit juive) give it ten minutes for the sugar to kick in and test again, if you aren't rising have more fast acting glucose, wait ten minutes test and repeat until you're over 4. Then have some complex carbohydrate so you don't crash back down - just a rich tea biscuit. You'll soon learn how much hypo treatment you need to bring you back up, without sending you sky high.