I'm a newbie - please be gentle

manc603

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)
Hello.

I was diagnosed as Type 2 last Friday after a fasting test showed an hba1c of 8.5% (69). the fasting level was 10.4 average.
I already knew something was wrong after my vision started to become blurred some time ago. The test was carried out 2.5 weeks ago and between that 2.5 weeks and last Friday, I substantially increased my excercise from 1 -2 times a week to 5 times a week (30 mins rowing - distance 6km)

I have almost an obsession now with testing my blood with an Accucheck Aviva to see what I can, can't eat etc etc. I am following a really low carb diet and the weight is now starting to come off (6lbs in 2 weeks so far).

I have noticed a gradual waking level drop for me in this time from 10.9 using my Accuchek (doc said 10.4) to 7.2 this morning. On occassion my levels can go up to 11mmol after eating and then do reduce again to around 8 or lower during the day. At bedtime I am around 6.2 as that's post gym etc.

I do eat a few nuts before bed (brazil or walnut) but not sure if this is ok or not.

My blood pressure is high and anywhere between 135/75 and 170/96 although after the gym it is usually closer to the 135/75 or 140/75 area.

I am not on any medication at the moment for the diabetes and have an appointment to go and see the nurse to discuss plan etc. My GP said they will do another test in 3 months and see the hba1c reading before deciding on whether I can continue with just diet and exercise or whether I will need tablets.

The worst thing I am experiencing right now is the blood pressure 'stress and worry' and that of being diabetic. The more I think about it the more I can't sleep or I worry. which in turn I am sure raises my pressure. This is all compounded by both my mother and mother-in-laws passing away (unrelated illnesses to mine) in the last 5 months, so it's been a horrendously stressful time.