Type 1 Insulin

fantastic9888

Type of diabetes
Treatment type
Insulin
Hi all. Does insulin go into bloodstream faster than glucose from food does. I usually inject these days about 10-15 mins after evening meal as I worry that sugars will continue to drop as I'm eating as I believe it takes 20 mins for glucose to enter bloodstream. Any advice welcome. I did get a hypo a few times whilst eating as I had injected before meal..

WuTwo

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Dislikes
People whose attitude says "Me, my opinion, my desire is greater and more important than anyone else"

And to whom the principle of ahimsa is a closed book that they refuse to open because it would make life more difficult for them.
Some insulins are much faster than others. I use humalog and I can safely pre-inject with that. Fiasp is much, much faster and I have no personal experience of it, so will leave comments about using it to others such as @MeiChanski

Reactions: Marie 2

MeiChanski

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Thank you for the tag @WuTwo
Hello, @fantastic9888, It depends on which fast acting bolus you have. Some of the things I look out for is carbs - some break down faster than others, timing of insulin - novorapid takes a while - 20 mins or so, whereas fiasp for me is anywhere between 10-15 mins and depending on your BG, if it's on the higher end, I'll wait but if it is lower end of normal - 4.5-5mmol/l, I won't wait, so I take it as food touches my mouth.

Jordi77

Type of diabetes
Type 2