Irregular heartbeat when fasting

stevem1000

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)
Hi everyone, just wondering if anyone has experienced irregular heartbeats whilst fasting ?
This came about at the doctor's whilst having my type 2 diabetes review, never had this type of issue before and the only thing I'm doing different is alternate day fasting but not sure if that's something anyone on here has experienced before.
Look forward to any advice that may help as fasting really seems to be helping me, am booked in for an ECG Friday week to be safe but would love to hear from the experts on here (new to fasting so not much if a clue to be honest)

jpscloud

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)
Hi stevem1000, I think you'll have to see what the tests reveal and what the Dr says - I assume you'll talk about the fasting to the Dr as well.

(Disclaimer - I am not an expert!) I personally haven't had irregular heartbeat when fasting, but during the past few years of a great deal of stress and being off the rails with eating junk food I had an irregular heartbeat often, and had that checked out by my Dr who said it was down to stress. I don't have an irregular heatbeat now I'm more careful with my diet and I am doing intermittent fasting as well.

Oddly though, I never had an irregular heartbeat before I had Covid. Might be a coincidence, but I have heard others talk about that kind of symptom.

How do you break your fasts? Are you using any new foods or supplements?

Good luck, hope it's easily sorted.

stevem1000

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)
Thank you for the reply, only take a mineral and apple cider supplement whilst fasting and break my fasts nice and gently starting with bone broth then a couple of hours later some chicken or similar.
Yeah did discuss with the nurse my fasting and low carb and she suggested I take it easy with the fasting until I have some more tests done which I will do until I know a bit more