Is it possible?

Guna108

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)
I was diagnosed on May 30th with an Hba1c reading of 80 and 9.5. I tested my bg today for the first time using the machine I bought and it read as 4. I had been fasting today (religious reasons) and am currently on 1000mg of Metformin (I have to buiild up to 2000mg over the course of a month). Could this result be possible or is the machine not working? I can see I have lost weight since my diagnosis and am on a vlcd and low carb diet , but for the last two days my eyesight has been really blurry when I try to read my lesson plans (I'm a teacher!). I really don't know what is happening.

Bluetit1802

Legend
Type of diabetes
Treatment type
Diet only
It is possible, yes, especially as you have lost weight and been on a very low carb eating plan.

Just as a tip. If you ever get a reading that seems unexpected or unlikely, do another test straight away to try and confirm it. If they are close enough together then all is well. If they are a very long way apart, do a third test.

Your eyesight is probably blurry because your sugar levels are dropping and your body isn't used to this yet. It is very common, but it is temporary. Don't go rushing off to buy new glasses!

Reactions: Shas3

NicoleC1971

BANNED
Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump
In short yes it is possible to have halved your blood sugars.
If you are fasting or going low calorie then your body is taking fat out of your liver and pancreas rather than you eating glucose/starch which then gets stored around your visceral organs eventually causing type 2 diabetes. This reduces your insulin resistance and helps your insulin work better in your body. Metformin is also stopping your liver from producing too much glucose (gloconeogenesis).
Blurry eyes? That's a common symptom of higher blood sugars and the eyes are quite sensitive to sudden changes in your blood glucose levels so it could settle down in the next few days (i hope!).