Is This Normal?

PippinSlim

Type of diabetes
Type 2
I'm new to type 2, seeing the diabetic nurse tomorrow for the first time. My question is related to my physical reaction to high bg. I have, on 2 occasions, within the last month had a small piece of gluten free cake/ brownie which has raised by bg over 10 two hours after eating. My physical reaction has been rapid heart beat, pain in chest, shaky and generally feeling shocking. This has been both times, is it a normal reaction?
I'm B12 deficient & hypothyroid too.

Many thanks in advance.

Reactions: 2 people

chalup

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Other
Hi there. Welcome to the forum. I would say that that reaction is normal for you and it sounds very unpleasant indeed. It is your body's way of telling you it can't handle that food. Are you taking medication for the thyroid and B12? The only way you will prevent going through that in the future is to avoid the high carb foods that send your blood sugar up. If you really must have cake or bread do a recipe search on the forum or google low carb baking. I would go with recipes off this forum as they are tested by real people. Most have an almond or coconut flour base and should not send your BS into orbit like that. I will tag @daisy1 to send you some information that I highly recommend you read carefully and follow the links as well, it will be worth your time and answer many questions.

Reactions: 5 people

PippinSlim

Type of diabetes
Type 2