Type 2 Itchy legs

Ian Brock

Hi I am fairly new member with Type 2 on Metformin this upsets my stomach but will improve so I am told. My concern is my legs have started itching below the knees. Is this normal, could it be the Metformin, or should I seek medical advice? The itch started at the back of my knees 3 days ago and had slowly spread down my legs and increased in intensity. Any advice greatly accepted.
Ian Brock

Reactions: Mariedoc

SB.25

Type of diabetes
Other
Treatment type
Insulin
Hiya,

is this an itch or is it more like pins and needles?

I personally suffered with pins and needles in my legs when I was first diagnosed. It lasted about a week and then went :)

Bluetit1802

Legend
Type of diabetes
Treatment type
Diet only
Are your blood sugar levels high - or have they been in the past? It could be diabetic neuropathy. I am only suggesting this as a possibility. I am not a doctor, so I suggest you have a word with your doctor.

resander

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only
Just a thought - are you taking Amlodipine for high blood pressure? One sideeffect of Amlodipine is itchy/sore/irritated ankles/lower legs. Perhaps it does not work well for you together with Metformin, or vice versa.

I am on Amlodipine and get this kind of itch intermittently. I take no other medicine, so don't know why it is coming and going and will probably never find out.

Ian Brock

Are your blood sugar levels high - or have they been in the past? It could be diabetic neuropathy. I am only suggesting this as a possibility. I am not a doctor, so I suggest you have a word with your doctor.