Lantus Dose

ainiabdul

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Insulin
Dislikes
Not having chocolate, it's a darn disaster!
I know that there have been a lot of posts on basal insulin.
I am a bit overwhelmed with the giant information posted by people and having difficulties sorting out which is which.
I am very new to diabetes. Puzzled here and there many times, but working on it.
Since I last diagnosed 3 weeks ago, I have been suggested by my doc to take 12 units of Lantus every night before bed.
I am reading more about good morning reading now and I am aiming to have mine below 100 mg/dl.
However, I haven't really been able to do this.
The last few days I woke up with 120-140 mg/dl for my FBG.
So far, I have only been successful with one morning with BG 94 mg/dl!
Should I be increasing my lantus dose?
I am 119 pounds, by the way.
I have read that to get the approximate dose, I can calculate by dividing my weight to 4.
So 119/4 = dose of basal insulin I need.
What do you think of this?
Should I be consulting with my doctor again?

Oh there's so much to learn.
But I am not giving upppppp :)

Thank you!

Last edited by a moderator:

noblehead

Guru
Retired Moderator
Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump
Dislikes
Disrespectful people
Mention your bg readings to your Dr and they will advise you on adjusting your basal insulin, for two or three nights why don't you do a bg check before bed, during the night and upon waking which will be useful to your Dr/Diabetes Care Team.

ainiabdul

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Insulin
Dislikes
Mention your bg readings to your Dr and they will advise you on adjusting your basal insulin, for two or three nights why don't you do a bg check before bed, during the night and upon waking which will be useful to your Dr/Diabetes Care Team.
Thanks noblehead.
When you mentioned during the night, is it at around mid-night and (or) early morning time like 1 or 2 am?

noblehead

Guru
Retired Moderator
Type of diabetes
Type 1