LCHF and Cholesterol

LadyLovely

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only
I was diagnosed in April and have been following LCHF diet for approximately three months now and assessing my BG levels with a meter and so was hopeful of a lower HB1AC result.

Just had my three month blood test and the good news is that my HB1AC reading has gone down to 41 from 51.

However my cholesterol total is now 8.3 up from 5.1
HDL 4.2 up from 3.7
LDL 3.8 up from 2.9
Triglycerides at 0.66 up from 0.56
cholesterol/HDL ratio of 2 up from 1.4

Is this bad news? Do I need to go back to low fat?

I'm due to see the DN in two weeks time but would be grateful for any feedback on here.

Many thanks.

Reactions: Prem51

Looseboy

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only
Dislikes
Diabetes
@LadyLovely I am sure plenty of people on here will be along with some good advice soon.

I don't count myself as an authority on anything as I am very new to LCHF and Diabetes myself.

My experience was different in that I managed to lower my BG and cholesterol in my first 3 months.

I suggest you share your diet so people can get a view.

For me I focused on increasing good fats I.e mackerel, avocado, and nuts

I also opted for porridge oats with cinnamon for brekkie 3-4 days a week plus a bottle of red a week ( over 3 days ) as I read that they were all good for cholesterol reduction.

Porridge oats can be controversial on LCHF but for me the meter says I am ok.

I also move/exercise more to reduce my weight.

All the best

JohnEGreen

Master
Type of diabetes
Other
Treatment type
Diet only
Dislikes
Tripe and Onions
@LadyLovely It's not necessarily High fat or Low fat there is a whole spectrum in between. and congrats on lowering your HbA1c

LadyLovely

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only
Thanks for the input @JohnEGreen and @Looseboy.