Little veins at sites

MushyPeaBrain

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump
I've been pumping for almost 6 years now. Recently I have noticed little thread veins that are quite visible near my cannula sites. The first one I thought was coincidence but there are a few more appearing near sites now. I rotate very carefully and haven't changed anything to do with my pump. I use inset II 6mm.

Has anyone else had this? Does anyone know what they are or what causes them? Also do I have to try and avoid them when placing a new set?

Snapsy

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump
I haven't had this, @MushyPeaBrain but I've pumped for only 18 months so far.

I do find I get broken veins when I change my Libre sensor though - those things stick SO tight it's a wrestle to get them unstuck....

The only issue I have with cannula sites is getting the sticky residue off each time I change site. Have got scrubbing with a soapy wet flannel down to a fine art! ;)

Hope someone will be along in a sec with an answer re your veins. Watching with interest.

:):):)

Reactions: MushyPeaBrain

azure

Expert
Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump
Where are your sites? Or is this happening in a number of body areas?

MushyPeaBrain

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump
The sites it's happening on are my hips. So far not happening in other regions but it's on both sides.

azure

Expert
Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump
The sites it's happening on are my hips. So far not happening in other regions but it's on both sides.

Hmm, that does sound strange. Perhaps it just that area? I've never used my hips - only my tummy, bum and thighs.

I'm not sure where on your hips you're putting the set in, but I think if it was me, I'd swap to another area and see how that went.

You could ask your DSN too or even your GP, but if it's noticeable and worrying you, I'd leave that area for a while,personally.

MushyPeaBrain

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump