Low Carb. Advice and opinions please

PoppyPetal

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only
I have been doing great on lchf since May 2016. Have lost 29kgs and type 2 in remission. Bad news is my weight loss seems to have totally stalled in the last few weeks and I have at least another 11kgs that I need to lose. I am 50+ female that only walks for exercise as have knee issues. Another thing is my total cholesterol and LDL have shot up considerably. Should I be cutting down on the cream and fatty meats I have been enjoying? Any advice would be really appreciated.

Bluetit1802

Legend
Type of diabetes
Type 2 (in remission!)
Treatment type
Diet only
I have been doing great on lchf since May 2016. Have lost 29kgs and type 2 in remission. Bad news is my weight loss seems to have totally stalled in the last few weeks and I have at least another 11kgs that I need to lose. I am 50+ female that only walks for exercise as have knee issues. Another thing is my total cholesterol and LDL have shot up considerably. Should I be cutting down on the cream and fatty meats I have been enjoying? Any advice would be really appreciated.

You could always try and see what happens next time you have a test.

Regarding the cholesterol, as long as your triglycerides are very low, and your HDL nice and high, I doubt there is much to worry about though.

BrianTheElder

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only
Dislikes
Snide people
I found that plateaus could last for 3-4 weeks, so I wouldn't worry. The main thing is to keep your calories up so your metabolism doesn't slow down, and also watch your proteins as I find anything over 70g (I weigh 72kg) halts or increases my weight.

Kristin251

Expert
Type of diabetes
LADA
Treatment type
Insulin
For ME, all dairy, grains, starches and fatty meats halt weight loss. Saturated fat, cheese, cream, chicken skins, too many nuts all make me gain.