1. Get the Diabetes Forum App for your phone - available on iOS and Android.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Guest, we'd love to know what you think about the forum! Take the Diabetes Forum Survey 2020 »
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Diabetes Forum should not be used in an emergency and does not replace your healthcare professional relationship. Posts can be seen by the public.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Guest, stay home, stay safe, save the NHS. Stay up to date with information about keeping yourself and people around you safe here and GOV.UK: Coronavirus (COVID-19). Think you have symptoms? NHS 111 service is available here.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Find support, ask questions and share your experiences. Join the community »

Medtronic 670g

Discussion in 'Insulin Pump Forum' started by Stefano, Feb 3, 2017.

  1. Stefano

    Stefano Type 1 · Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    82
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Hello everybody, does anyone know if the MEDTRONIC 670g is now available in UK and has anyone tried it?
     
  2. tim2000s

    tim2000s Type 1 · Expert
    Retired Moderator

    Messages:
    8,907
    Likes Received:
    11,769
    Trophy Points:
    198
    It hasn't yet received EMA approval (which means it doesn't have a CE mark). It won't be commercially available in the US (the first market to get it) until April. I believe there have been a few used in trials in the UK, but that's about it.

    Medtronic UK have been told that it is still in a developmental phase in the US and there's basically no information. I would suggest second half of 2017 on that basis, and if you're on a Medtronic pump already, don't hold your breath about getting it replaced with a 670G.
     
  3. Stefano

    Stefano Type 1 · Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    82
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Hi Tim thanks for your answer. I was just curious as yesterday a colleague mentioned to me about the 670g as coming very soon, but then when I checked in internet I found the same info you just provided to me. Yes I just had in November the 640g as upgrade so I guess i will need to wait the 4 years for the next upgrade unless I'm going to fund myself.
    One question what is the main difference with the 640? Is that it increases your insulin intake if your blood sugar rises above 120 (6)? While with the 640 it can only reduce your basal if predict a hypo, which i already use.
    I guess with the 670g you still will have to carbs count in any case.
     
  4. tim2000s

    tim2000s Type 1 · Expert
    Retired Moderator

    Messages:
    8,907
    Likes Received:
    11,769
    Trophy Points:
    198
    In the US marketing, they have highlighted two things. The predictive low glucose suspend, that the 640G already uses and the "Auto Mode".

    Auto Mode introduces full basal control, in as much as it's similar to what I use with my DIY rigs.

    When using the "Auto" mode, it observes glucose levels every five mins and tries to maintain them at 6.5 mmol/l. This means that it reduces the insulin amounts as it thinks you are going under the target and increases them as you go above it.

    You still have to enter carbs and do boluses, but it apparently will suggest a bolus if it sees blood glucose changes that aren't in line with the data that you have entered.

    So yes, you still have to carb count. The reality is that insulin isn't fast enough not to. We're trying to get over that in the #wearenotwaiting world though.
     
  • Meet the Community

    Find support, connect with others, ask questions and share your experiences with people with diabetes, their carers and family.

    Did you know: 7 out of 10 people improve their understanding of diabetes within 6 months of being a Diabetes Forum member. Get the Diabetes Forum App and stay connected on iOS and Android

    Grab the app!
  • Tweet with us

  • Like us on Facebook