Metformin- newly diagnosed

salamander

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Hi,

I was diagnosed with type 2 (although they're not positive on that) after a hba1c of 11% and a blood glucose level of 23 (not fasting) a week ago. My blood levels usually range between 10-14 fasting and 15-20 after meals.

I was told to take one dose of 500mg of metformin a day for a week and then up this to two doses. I'm due to up the dose tomorrow but I've been suffering with stomach upset from the one dose so I'm unsure whether I should start taking two. After several close calls it makes me nervous to leave the house unless I know where the bathrooms are :oops:

The thing is I am a university student who will be going home for the summer tomorrow so I won't be able to see my doctor here about it and probably won't be able to see one back home for at least a week as I'll need to temporarily register with them so any advice would be great.

Also, when will the symptoms die down??? They are so uncomfortable :(

Thanks,

Sally

BioHaZarD

Type of diabetes
Treatment type
Diet only
Hi Sally

I was told the same, 1 x 500mg metformin for 7 days then 2 a day. I rang my doc on the day I was suppose to take 2 and told him I was low carbing (an trips to the loo) have him all my reading which had come down dramatically in a week as I was being very good an he told me I do not have to take the other one of I don't want to and if I feel happy about how I am doing so I am still taking 1. Unfortunately the loo trips still remain, they get better but every now and then have a few nasty days, but it gets better :D

When I saw my DN she told me to take 2, but I have ignored her as the reason she gave me was so i can eat more carbs, so I did not take her advice and am quite happy with 1 pill and low carbing, (she thinks I am still taking 2) I have also lost 1 stone in 22 days.