Milk!

Derbyshire Boy

For the last few days, we've had my daughter and son in law visiting us down here in lovely Devon ("alroight moi loverrr...?") :).

Being a newly minted and recent Type 2 at age 61, I was querying my son-in-law about various diabetes related things, because although he's just 31, he's been a Type 1 since he was a nipper and has long had a grip on how things are and can be. We were talking about what spikes your BS and he said an interesting thing: he said that ordinary cow's milk produce large blood sugar spikes for him, which I found interesting, as they don't for me and I often drink semi-skimmed milk-based, high protein, low carb shakes.

So, I suppose my question is: do Type 1 and type 2s react differently to milk? Or is it just a difference between individuals, rather than diabetes types? As I say, I'm new to all this, so your experiences, ideas, opinions, etc would be much appreciated.

Thank yez!
Phil.
:cat:

kitedoc

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump
Dislikes
black jelly beans
Hi @Derbyshire Boy,
Lots of variables to consider like:
what insulin does your son-in-law take and in what doses ?
What Carb to insulin ratios and is he talking about cow's milk on its own ? Or as part of say, breakfast?
Also skim, or low fat milk or full cream and in what quantity ?
And is he comparing his BSL spikes to your BSL with intake of milk or comparing to someone/something else ?

Reactions: Our_lady_

Guzzler

Master
Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only
Dislikes
Poor grammar, bullying and drunks.
Sometimes we just can't compare like-to-like. For those of us with T2/Pre D it could just boil down to how insulin resistant we are and I suspect that for those with T1 the individual response differs, too.

Lamont D

Oracle
Type of diabetes
Reactive hypoglycemia
Treatment type
I do not have diabetes