Morning and night?????

nannoo

I am low carbing and have got my BS down to a reasonable level. However, I would just like to check to see what would be the ideal BS fasting level, and the ideal pre-bedtime level for a Type 2 diabetic. Many thanks.

nannoo

I can't believe 34 people have looked at my message, but no-one has responded. Is that because there IS no definite BS/BG level for fasting, and last thing at night?????

sugarless sue

Master
Dislikes
Rude people! Not being able to do the things I want to do.
Fasting (waking)...................between 4 - 7 mmol/l.
2 hrs after meals..................no more than 8.5 mmol/l.
If you can get the after meal (post prandial) numbers lower then so much the better.

noblehead

Guru
Retired Moderator
Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump
Dislikes
Disrespectful people
nannoo

I am no expert on these matters, any advice I give is purely personal, hence why I feel uncomfortable replying to posts sometimes regarding meds/bg's. Despite living with diabetes for a very long time, I still have much to learn and reading the forum is helping me expand my knowledge. I feel that more experienced boarders, who write more frequently with good sound medical advice, are more suited to give advice on control etc.

Anyway, the level I tend to go to bed with is a bg of no more than 7, and try to wake with a bg of 5-6. I am lucky at the moment that my bg does not go high during sleep, and if anything will come down to the 5 mark by the morning.

Nigel

nannoo

Thank you for your responses. I think I read somewhere that the last reading at night should be higher (around 8.0) to avoid hypos during the night. Because of that I am eating something later to avoid hypos, but then my fasting levels are higher. Should I not be doing this?

Vikingepigen