Musings, Questions, and Ramblings of a Type 2 Traveller

TonyHancock

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only
I confess to being a lurker, not a longtime lurker but long enough, so it is time to add a meagre contribution to what is a wonderful forum, populated by inspirational posters.

My diagnosis came in October 2017. After experiencing extreme thirst and the follow on consequences of satisfying that thirst, a bit of googling gave me an idea of what to expect. At 178cm and 99kg I did not need to be Sherlock Holmes to deduce what the problem might be.

I was a bit dazed when the diagnosis came, and didn't even ask for details, oddly I was more concerned with a rather high blood pressure reading....which turned out to be white coat syndrome.

The doc prescribed 500mg of Metaformin and a change in lifestyle. I had been cycling an average of 25km per day for the last two years, in gyms and on my hybrid bike, so my exercise was not likely to increase dramatically. He suggested the Mediterranean Diet.

Within 24 hours, after a fair bit more googling I decided to pursue the Blood Sugar Diet, all 800 calories a day of it, and purchased two Blood Glucose Monitors. I also resolved to try and fit in an extra hour of exercise a day too.

Now, ordinarily, this would be a tricky task, but my job also involves a lot of travel....an average of 300,000 miles in the air per year. In the 8 weeks I had set myself to lose 15kg I was overseas for 6 weeks.:eek:

I stuck to my guns, didn't touch a drop of alcohol and watched my fasting readings drop from 10 to 5.5 in just over two weeks and remain in the 5's right up to Christmas Day where I recorded a weight of 83.5kg. I felt better than ever, fitter, more agile and mentally sharper. More than that I was, and am, really enjoying the food. (Avocados really are the food of the Gods)