New to the forum and really confused

penfitzspike

Hello
I am a complete newby.
I am 49 and have never really consistently looked after myself. I grew up eating too much toast and wine mainly - inbetween going on diets. I was anorexic in my teens...

All my life I noticed that if I ate something really sweet like a chocolate biscuit I feel a bit dizzy and shaky afterwards. But only if I have not eaten for a few hours. If I consistently eat rubbish food and drink wine I feel fine (but get fat!). I have developed weight gain around my middle.

As soon as I try to eat healthily - e.g. a vegetables and a small amount of apples or berries and almond milk (no added sugar) and protein powder smoothie (no added sugar or weird ingredients), then perhaps a tomato soup at lunch....I feel awful all afternoon (shaky, tearful, light headed, anxious etc). Why would this be? I thought that low GI would be good for someone whose blood sugar levels fluctuates? I find that I am fine if I don't eat, but when I do then BAM - I feel awful for hours.

I know that juice fasting is awful for me (because I have tried that), but it seems so is low carb.

I'm totally confused.
I had a HbA1c done and it was normal.

What is going on?

I want a diet that can help me lose weight but not make me feel awful. Where do I start?! Thank you

JoKalsbeek

Expert
Type of diabetes
I reversed my Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only
Hello
I am a complete newby.
I am 49 and have never really consistently looked after myself. I grew up eating too much toast and wine mainly - inbetween going on diets. I was anorexic in my teens...

All my life I noticed that if I ate something really sweet like a chocolate biscuit I feel a bit dizzy and shaky afterwards. But only if I have not eaten for a few hours. If I consistently eat rubbish food and drink wine I feel fine (but get fat!). I have developed weight gain around my middle.