Newbie mistakes

VashtiB

Staff Member
Type of diabetes
Treatment type
Diet only
I thought it might be useful to start a thread about mistakes everyone has made when they were a newbie- I'm still a newbie so may post multiple times :)

My first mistake was over obsessing about my blood sugar levels- I really really wanted to be in the '4's rather than the '5's to '6's. This meant I avoided all exercise so that I didn't push up my levels. I've now calmed down a bit and happy to be in the '5's still hoping for lower but it has only been 5 weeks so figure that is okay.

Another mistake I made was feeling ashamed of having this disease. I am not completely over this but the shame has meant I stoped doing things like meeting up with friends and feeling more and more 'broken' this obviously made me stressed and that did not help my blood sugar levels. I wouldn't say I'm over being ashamed but now probably not over the fear of being judged. I've told a few people and they have been nice. I've spoken to a restaurant for an unavoidable function. They were helpful and gave me low/no carb options.

Another mistake I have made is not checking the carbs in everything- I made the stupid assumption that oysters would be fine- seafood right- no they do contain carbs. Much better to check everything.

On my first day after diagnosis I made the mistake that maybe the advice from the dr was okay and had a 'healthy' meal and spiked. That mistake really depressed me as I could only see insulin as the only way forward. Having followed the LCHF life means I don't see it that way now.

Another mistake is just discounting the effects of stress on my levels. I am now considering the need to spend time actively managing my stress. My job as a lawyer is very high stress often but I need to ensure I spend some time relaxing. My lovely husband gave me some sessions in a float tank for my birthday and I have had one- in one hour my levels dropped by 1 from 5.8 to 4.8- yay!!.