Newbie Type2 needs advice

Peckj02

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Hi everyone,

I was diagnosed type 2 in September after being pre diabetic for 7 yrs after having gestational diabetes. I'm on 1000mg metformin in the morning and 1000mg in the evening. I've also just been put on statins for raised cholesterol too.
My problem is that I'm not managing my food choices at all. Because I don't feel unwell I'm finding it difficult to stop myself eating the foods which are not going to do me much good in the long run.
I have finally managed to get some test strips today and know that checking my BS should help me stay in control, but as they are so ridiculously expensive I would really appreciate any advice on the best times to test so I am not wasting strips.
Hope that all makes sense, lol x

Reactions: Liam1955

callyandy

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)
Hello @Peckj02, I'm a newbie too, diagnosed on 30 September whilst attending a prediabetes forum. Oops. too late. There is an amazing amount of help and support on these forums, the people are informative and very friendly, so I think you're in the fight place. @daisy1 will post you a welcome message (if I've done this right, my first attempt at this) this might be the first time the Low Carb, High Fat programme has been mentioned to you. A bit odd to start with but after four weeks I can honestly say I' a convert. Lots of other more experienced member will help you further, but my advice is do some research and try the programme.

Welcome, and good luck:happy:

Reactions: Prem51

Chrisle68

Hi and welcome Peckj02
What is a good cheap machine is a sd biosensor can be got on ebay and other sites But the strips are cheaper 50 for 6.99 If you buy in bulk still cheaper Hope this helps
Chris

daisy1

Legend
Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)
Dislikes
Cruelty towards animals.
@Peckj02