NovoPen hack!

harrisphil

Hi guys,

Recently I got to work in the morning, starving, ready to make my usual oatmeal breakfast in the microwave (I get in too early to eat at home).

And as per the normal routine, grab my NovoEcho to click 3.5 units into my belly, 15min before eating.

To my horror I went to click, 0.5 only allowed; the insulin vial was empty!

At least that’s what the pen thought... I could see maybe 2-3% insulin left in the vial, that the plunger couldn’t get to.

The Echo pen must have a mechanically dialled in 300 units of clicks, because i couldn’t get it to go any further.

Armed with hunger and being an engineer by trade I wouldn’t let myself be defeated.

So, I took the plastic cap off the end of one of my disposable needles and placed it behind the back of the vial, and reloaded it into the pen. The plunger, with the plastic jammed in there, had more to give, and I actually managed to get another 8 units out of the vial to see me out for lunch also!

I’m not recommending people do this every time their reusable insulin vial is “empty”. Just go to the fridge and replace it.

But in case you are caught short like I was, facing a forced fasting day; here is another diabetic life hack- in case you hadn’t already discovered it for yourself!

Cheers,

Phil

Reactions: Antje77

Antje77

Oracle
Retired Moderator
Type of diabetes
LADA
Treatment type
Insulin
Yup, there's about 20 bonus units in an empty pen :)

Juicyj

Expert
Retired Moderator
Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump
Dislikes
Hypos, rude people, ignorance and grey days.
Seems incredibly wasteful - great share, thanks Phil. I often wondered that when I was using pens, now I use a pump I try and milk it to the last drop each time to save wasting insulin and only fill each cannula set with what I need to last me 3 days.

NinaB73

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin