Omnipod System

adrian29459

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump
Hi

I'm new here. I've used the search function but come up with nothing, does anybody know or own an Omnipod System?
From what I've looked at I think they're only available in America, but it looks really impressive. Its both an advanced blood glucose monitor (uses Freestyle testing strips) and a wireless insulin pump. I've never used a pump before so I don't know how good the system compares to other products.
Here's a link to more info http://www.myomnipod.com/products/ & also here's more detailed review on youtube http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=CsWpMUqlpQQ.

And also here's a little info about myself:
- Type 1 diabetic, diagnosed in 1998.
- I currently inject 2 doses of insulin a day, one in the morning and one before my evening meal - this is humalog mix 25. In some ways this means the diabetes is controlling when and what I eat, and I must eat little and often, but I prefer it this way.
- I do sometimes take extra normal humalog if I'm going to have a big meal or if I have high bs.
- I test 3 - 6 times a day all depending on how I feel and whether I'm in or out of my daily routine.
Thanks! :)

Dennis

Type of diabetes
Treatment type
Non-insulin injectable medication (incretin mimetics)
Dislikes
People who join web forums to be agressive and cause trouble
The Omnipod system does look good, and a new version is currently under development with an improved glucose monitoring system. But it is currently only available in the US (and even there is sold in only 40 states). The cost of $800 for a month's worth of pods is probably what will prevent it ever becoming available on prescription in the UK.

When you consider that PCTs are reluctant to let GPs prescribe even glucose monitor test strips at a cost to the NHS of less than £20 per month, I don't see Omnipod ever getting off the ground over here.

adrian29459

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump