Omnipod! Wanting To Throw In The Towel

carak1987

Type of diabetes
Type 1
I'm starting to feel depressed, my bms are rarely below 12. I carb count correctly, but only been on it 9 days today. I knew I was to expect a rough time with high bms but it's ridiculous. I feel like just ripping it off and giving in. My background is being increased. Which I did again today to 1.3mmols p/hr. I've got a constant head ache. My ketones are perfect thank God but I just thought that I would start to see some difference. Am I expecting something too soon, I feel like I'm failing and that I don't deserve this pump. Please help with any advice on how you was when first starting on the pump. Tia

GrantGam

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Of course you deserve the pump. You've clearly been recommended by a HCP for whatever reason and should see this as a golden opportunity, so stick with it!

When you were initially diagnosed and went on MDI for the first time, it would have taken a long time to get everything under control? I guess your situation now is no different. It will take constant adjustment of insulin dosing to get you where you want to be. Apparently this can take a few weeks, but don't get disheartened so soon. It's all new and a case of learning as you go.

You'll get through it:)

Grant

Reactions: 2 people

catapillar

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Don't give up! I've been on omnipod a month and it is an adjustment. Don't be so hard on yourself and don't expect miracles.

Think of the things you can achieve on a pump that would be much harder on MDI:

- you can perfectly bespoke your basal rate to suit you. Yes this does take a bit of work and is a frustrating process. Could you afford a libre for a couple of weeks to ease the process or get a trial one from hospital?
- you can micro bolus for correction, tiny bits of carbs, protein - you can give 0.05 unit increments and aren't forced to round up to 0.50 or 1 unit.