Ozempic suggested but scared of rocking the proverbial boat!

Stephyr7783

Hi,

I’ve been on a basal bolus regime since last October, after a shaky start I’m now used to the foibles of insulin controlled diabetes and have managed a consistent lowering of my HbA1C.( now standing at 53) I’m hoping to have a HbA1C well within the 40s within the next couple of month.
My GP ( also an endocrinologist, just not mine) has suggested I try the once weekly Ozempic to further aid my glycaemic control as I have PCOS so insulin resistance is my issue. The thing is having got a decent-ish handle on my diabetes now I’m slightly reluctant to add another treatment into the mix for fear of rocking that proverbial boat! Especially when I have tried another of the same class of drugs (GLP-1 RA) before to no avail.

I’m a med student going into clinical placement for the next year and my husband has brain cancer so life is busy and often stressful and I don’t really have the time nor energy to have to deal with side effects/potential hypos etc ( I mean who does!? )
So here is my quandary…Do I keep doing as I have been and hope that that and further weight loss will be enough to drop my HbA1C into an acceptable range or do I chance my luck with the Ozempic and keep my fingers crossed I start and become established on it unscathed.

Has anyone in a similar situation tried Ozempic? How did you find it?

Side note: I have a history of acute pancreatitis and I’ve had laser treatment on diabetic retinopathy, both of which are listed as Cautions when being prescribed Ozempic

Many thanks for reading this long winded post!
Steph

EllieM

Staff Member
Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump
Dislikes
forum bugs
Hi @Stephyr7783 . I haven't used ozempic but have a couple of comments.

If you have a side dose of pancreatitis has that also affected your insulin production? (ie a side dose of T3c to go with your T2).