Type 1 People who just don't get it

Willow_14

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Hello,

I was helping my friend and her mum out at this year 7 disco thing to make sure the kids were safe and stuff and her mum asked us to go and get her a diet coke. So we went and asked if they had any and the woman was saying things like "well I'm a health professional and the normal coke is better for you even though it has all that sugar in it so we only have the normal one." I know it is better for you because it hasn't got all the chemicals in it but because of my diabetes I can't drink 'sugar'. So I said I can't have the normal coke because I can't drink 'sugar' and she gave me the most disgusted look. I mean I know she doesn't know I have diabetes but she doesn't know why I can't have the original coke, lots of people can't with lots of different problems. This just really annoyed me because she started giving me and my friend a lecture about it and she doesn't know anything about my life so I don't see why I had to have a lecture from her about why I can't drink diet coke when I know and can and have to if I want coke.

Thank you,
Willow

Diakat

Expert
Retired Moderator
Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Dislikes
The smell of cigars
She was just a bit of an idiot. And you will meet a lot of them through life.
However if the school organised the event, I'd probably drop them a more asking that future ones offer a choice.

Reactions: 5 people

Jaylee

Oracle
Retired Moderator
Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
What @Diakat said..

But thinking out this..
One could also report this woman to the school for giving out "unsolicited diatary advice" to potentially vulnerable & impressionable youngsters.?! (I got no idea the age group of a "year 7".)

ickihun

Master
Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Insulin
Dislikes
Bullies
Everyone is different. End of.
The sooner everyone realises that, the better.