pre-diabetic after distal pancreactomy

eggy g

Hi
I am new to this, I wonder if anyone out there has a similar "problem" to me. I had 2/3 of my pancreas removed(tail and body) Dec. 08 due to pre-cancerous tumour. Because of this I was advised to check my BG and have a yearly test done at GP's to detect diabetes. I was diagonosed with IGT last June (09) this was done via oral glucose test my results were 10.9 I believe 11.1 is a diagnosis of diabetes. I was told to lose some weight which I duly did, but my cholestrol and blood pressure were high and my BG remained relatively high for IGT. Typically 8/9 on waking and sometimes over 12 after a meal. I modified my diet but eventually in December 09 I was given 12 week test, can't remember name, AH something or other. The result was 6.5 so I now take 1 x 500mg metformin daily. At first I was told I was probably diabetic, went into panic mode and then I was informed 2 days later I wasn't. I have been told by my doctor it is inevitable I will become type 2. I started to feel better, less tired, mouth not so dry, not going to loo as much, until a couple of weeks ago. I feel constantly tired, the dry mouth has started again and I need to wee more often. I hadn't taken my BG for a while but I felt quite unwell a couple of nights ago. I hadn't had any lunch as I had been busy at work, I had steak, jacket potato and salad when I got home and almost immediatly I felt so ill. I didn't take my BG just went to bed. The next morning after 15 hours without food it was 8.8. Is this normal for IGT? I don't feel I get the support as I am not the "normal" IGT/ type 2 candidate. My GP has admitted he hasn't come across anyone with my medical history before and my DN just treats me as if I have a complete pancreas. I haven't really been told about diet apart from cut down on fat and carbs, but not a lot more. It's got to the stage when I am sometimes afraid to eat incase I feel unwell.