Random readings

spurs101

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only
HI, i'm new to testing my blood sugar levels. Tested this morning and had so many different readings. 7, 13, 11, 10

All over the place. I washed my hands and done it again but each time different.

What would cause that? Are the monitors accurate. It's a finger prick one

KennyA

Staff Member
Type of diabetes
Treatment type
Diet only
HI, i'm new to testing my blood sugar levels. Tested this morning and had so many different readings. 7, 13, 11, 10

All over the place. I washed my hands and done it again but each time different.

What would cause that? Are the monitors accurate. It's a finger prick one
A glucometer is permitted to be 5% inaccurate 95% of the time. So a true blood glucose value of (eg) 12mmol/l could give acceptable results of anywhere from 12.6 to 11.4. One in twenty results on average may well be totally outside that 5% inaccuracy range. And while you're testing your liver is reacting to your stress and adjusting your blood glucose., which can rise or fall fairly quickly. And you don't say whether you'd eaten, or exercised, because those can affect your levels as well.

If I got those sorts of results I'd be guessing that my actual BG was somewhere around 11 or 12. But overall it shows in my opinion that it's unwise to take too much from one reading or set of readings. What I prefer to do with fingerprick testing is build up a picture of how I respond to particular foods rather than find out what my BG is at any particular moment, which doesn't tell me all that much.