Retinopathy letter received

jamesfitz

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Had an eye screening test last week

Received a letter saying i have some background retinopathy.

Been diagnosed since 2015 and blood sugars mostly between 4-7 (90% of the time)

So shocked to see this after 3 years of well controlled diabetes :/

Guzzler

Master
Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only
Dislikes
Poor grammar, bullying and drunks.
I had the same letter after my first screening. As far as I am aware retinopathy at background level can wax and wane. Even some non Diabetics can be seen to have background retinopathy.

jamesfitz

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
I had the same letter after my first screening. As far as I am aware retinopathy at background level can wax and wane. Even some non Diabetics can be seen to have background retinopathy.

was it highlighted at subsequent eye tests or had it cleared up?

Guzzler

Master
Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only
Dislikes
Poor grammar, bullying and drunks.
was it highlighted at subsequent eye tests or had it cleared up?

I have only had the one screening (I missed the second appointment) but members do report that that BR can come and go.

Juicyj

Expert
Retired Moderator
Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump
Dislikes
Hypos, rude people, ignorance and grey days.
No real need to worry @jamesfitz i've had it come and go and consider myself fairly stable, I was in a right panic the first year I got it, had it for a few years, then it went for a few years and came back again last year, just had an eye screening test so hoping it doesn't progress. It does come and go as @Guzzler has said so try not to worry.

Grant_Vicat

Type of diabetes
Don't have diabetes
Treatment type
I do not have diabetes
Dislikes
Intolerance, selfishness, rice pudding
Had an eye screening test last week

Received a letter saying i have some background retinopathy.