Right Diagnosis? Type 1 or Type 2?

BenjiB1992

Hi All,

Im completely new to this and am worried I may have been wrongly diagnosed, thought id ask the people who know the condition the best.

I am currently in the process of being diagnosed with type 2 and have been started on Metformin. I worry with the symptoms I have and how quickly they have developed that i may be type 1, i know im most likely being paranoid but im a little worried about it. I feel horrible every day and its getting worse over the past 2 weeks.

Symptoms - weight loss, thirst, urination (much more overnight) dark patches of skin in armpits, nausea, blurry vision at times, penile thrush, very dry mouth, sweats.

I have been dipping my urine and is showing alot of glucose, trace ketones, proteins.

Thanks for your help

HSSS

Expert
Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only
What tests have you had? What results? What time periods are you talking about symptoms suddenly appearing in? What’s your weight doing? What’s your current diet like?

All the symptoms you list could be either type. They are symptoms of high blood sugar rather than the cause of them.

BenjiB1992

What tests have you had? What results? What time periods are you talking about symptoms suddenly appearing in? What’s your weight doing? What’s your current diet like?

All the symptoms you list could be either type. They are symptoms of high blood sugar rather than the cause of them.

Hi, I have had urine dip ( High glucose, trace ketones, and proteins) BP raised 168/126, HbA1c unsure what the numbers were and a blood glucose test unsure of number - another set were taken yesterday and awaiting results. All these symptoms over past 2 weeks, not sure of exact weight loss however clothes noticeably looser / baggy

HSSS

Expert
Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only