Secondary school appeals

Curlymama1

Good Afternoon

It's my first time posting on here just wanting some advise or wondering if anyone has been in a similar situation? My son didn't get offered his first choice high school and we are really upset about it. All the other children in his year about from two (as they are going to a grammar school) have got a place. we are just slightly out of the catchment area and it is over subscribed. Our main reasons for him wanting to go to the school is it is the nearest to us and two minutes from our family business so we can take him and get there quickly in case of any emergency and his friends will all be there which has been a huge support for him since been diagnosed in 2019. The school he has been offered is in the oppostite direction to my youngests primary and work so he would have to get a bus. He really struggles emotionally and socially even more so since his diagnosis and i just don't think he would deal with having to catch a bus to a school on his own, not knowing anyone aswell as trying to manage his diabetes on his own as at the moment he has teacher support. Lockdown hasn't helped as he seems to be so dependent on me a lot of the time. Has anyone won a school appeal based mainly on type 1?

Sorry for rambling on and thanks for reading.

OCat

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only
Some schools have special appeals for health reasons - we were offered this by the local authority (for asthma, probably more common than diabetes so I think your chances are higher) but didn’t need to in the end as he got offered another place that was suitable. Always worth appealing sounds like you have really good grounds. If that fails a lot can happen between now and September with waiting lists, and in-year transfers are much more common than I’d have thought. Good luck

Reactions: Curlymama1

ert

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Dislikes
diabetes
fasting