Should of listened.........

tim32

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only
I was diagnosed in February 2016 with T2, But being a man of a certain age, I decided to mainly ignore the nurse and carry on regardless. Until that (un)funny incident last week with the breathing and disorientated feeling. I have been working away for the last 9 months, living in a hotel and drinking to much beer and eating all the wrong food. I started to use the gym as a way of countering my poor diet and even lost 1/2 a stone in weight, So when the nurse said you have T2, I thought well you're going to the gym you're loosing weight and getting fitter, If you search the internet there is no sugar in beer, Until last week when I started to learn about Carbs. The good news is my weight is down another 1/2 a stone and my HbA1c levels have fallen since February,
(I'm still learning what all the numbers mean). The nurse have given me a monitor, but does not want to give me a load of strips to test myself with??? But i can have Metformin, So my plan is to reduce the carbs cut out the beer go to the gym and loose more weight. I have refused the drugs (for now) and will have another blood test in 3 months, Wish me luck.

Reactions: 5 people

Jaylee

Oracle
Retired Moderator
Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Hi,

I'm a T1 of a "certain age"... Don't forget the carbs in spuds, pasta,bread,cereal & fruit (Among many others.)
Never too old to learn..!

I do sincerely wish you luck!

Reactions: 7 people

pleinster

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only
Dislikes
ignorance