Sleep and BS

AnnM99

Hi,
Can I ask.... Does sleep have a big impact on bs????
Im a teacher and feel quite anxious and stressed in term time. Now the holidays are here I'm sleeping much better.... 8 hours without waking and sometimes an afternoon nap. Feel very relaxed. Normally I wake every couple of hours in term time and bs are higher.
Just had a lovely low carb dinner tonight, cauli rice, chicken, coleslaw and FF Greek yogurt for dessert with blueberries, I then decided to shut my eyes infront of TV.... Woke an hr later.... Bloods 4.8. They were 5.0 before I ate and 4.8 was 2 hours later.
Bloods 5.1 when I woke this morning and not moved much all day.
Last test was 42, down from 86.
My question.... Does sleep and relaxation really impact this much?? Maybe it's just my food and used to my new life and food.
I'm always expecting a high reading but never above 6.4 these last 2 weeks. Usually up to 7.5 max.

Reactions: EllieM

sleepster

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump
Hi @AnnM99, I definitely find poor/not enough sleep and anxiety affect my BG, both on their own and together. I find I'm higher and more insulin-resistant.

P.s sorry have just seen you posted in the type 2 forum, I'm type 1 :nailbiting:

shelley262

Type of diabetes
Treatment type
Diet only
Hi,
Im a teacher and feel quite anxious and stressed in term time. Now the holidays are here I'm sleeping much better.... 8 hours without waking and sometimes an afternoon nap. Feel very relaxed. Normally I wake every couple of hours in term time and bs are higher.
Just had a lovely low carb dinner tonight, cauli rice, chicken, coleslaw and FF Greek yogurt for dessert with blueberries, I then decided to shut my eyes infront of TV.... Woke an hr later.... Bloods 4.8. They were 5.0 before I ate and 4.8 was 2 hours later.
My question.... Does sleep and relaxation really impact this much?? Maybe it's just my food and used to my new life and food.