Small Wins Add Up

UserABC2021

Type of diabetes
Prefer not to say
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)
In the first week of March this year I was struck by a hyperglycemic event, it was my first and it frightened the life out of me. I live alone and managed to get to my doctor who immediately took my bloods, diagnosed me as diabetic and sent me to hospital.

That began a journey, but the real beginning started right here on this site which I discovered within minutes of returning home. I began reading the stories and it changed everything.

I threw out everything in my cupboards and went shopping, having decided to 'do the LCHF' routine. You can see from the pic below how fast I turned my blood sugars around, but, I'm no expert and I still stumble and fumble in the dark. The others here kept me going, gave me hope and a helping hand.

Three months on and my HbA1C is 40, I'm kind of proud of that and it was worth the effort.

So, if you're new to all this, if it's still a scary prospect then I hope my little tale can help.

My small wins are all those end of day averages, I haven't really lost much weight (7Kg), nor am I more attractive or intelligent and I'm sure my breath would down a rhino when I'm ketosing but 'hey ho'... swings and things :happy:

upload_2018-6-15_18-39-29.png

Last edited:
Reactions: Terrytiddy

shelley262

Type of diabetes
Treatment type
Diet only
@HarrisonK amazing progress in three months You’ve done so well. Please accept a congratulatory hug and pat on the back from me. It’s so inspirational when people share stories and I think they are particularly helpful to people who are still in the shocked just diagnosed stages who are thinking that things will only get worse and certainly not better yet we are all evidence that this condition can be managed and our health and well being improved. Stories like yours are lights in the dark.
Well done and thank you for sharing.

jayney27

Type of diabetes
Treatment type
Diet only