STEROIDS AND DIABETES

JUSTING

hi i'm new to the web site and just had a few questions and would like to see if anyone can suggest anything new

i am 33 years old and have been asthmatic since birth, and have been on large doses of pregnisalone, with daily doses upto 100mg at some points. My maintance dose is 20mg and i have never been of them. I also take arround another 15 drugs, i wont list as too many lol!

I was told i was diabetic in july 2000, and was put on glicaside and metformin sr, they doctors say it is because of the steroids i became diabetic, it has also caused my to have cardiomyopathy,

dose anyone have any suggetsions what i can do as my BM's are always between 13-29. The doctors is suggesting insulin, but im not to happy with that as i have a needle phyobia.

Any suggestions and help woould be much appricated

thanks

justin

sugarless sue

Master
Dislikes
Rude people! Not being able to do the things I want to do.
Welcome to the forum,Justin.can you give us some idea of what you eat on an average day?

jallsop

JUSTING said:
hi i'm new to the web site and just had a few questions and would like to see if anyone can suggest anything new

i am 33 years old and have been asthmatic since birth, and have been on large doses of pregnisalone, with daily doses upto 100mg at some points. My maintance dose is 20mg and i have never been of them. I also take arround another 15 drugs, i wont list as too many lol!

I was told i was diabetic in july 2000, and was put on glicaside and metformin sr, they doctors say it is because of the steroids i became diabetic, it has also caused my to have cardiomyopathy,

dose anyone have any suggetsions what i can do as my BM's are always between 13-29. The doctors is suggesting insulin, but im not to happy with that as i have a needle phyobia.

Any suggestions and help woould be much appricated

thanks

justin

Hi Justin