Suggestions for the best tasting low carb milk for my much loved cuppa...??

Tourettes

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Hi forum, newbie here and just starting out on the LCHF plan.. After 2 days already seen bg drop significantly... Trying to wrestle myself self away from carbs and would really appreciate your suggestions for lowest carb/ best tasting milk for my cuppa...??

Kind Regards

jpscloud

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)
Hi, I'm a complete beginner to low carbing so have only just started reading here, but I have tried milk alternatives before when I went vegan for a while. I found none really suited my taste in tea, so I went to black tea instead (start fairly weak if you want to try it). I gather black tea is known to have some benefits for the cardiovascular system (Dr Google said so!) so it's a bonus for health improvement too - the health benefits only come with black tea though, not with milk in. I had to work at it but I do prefer it without milk now.

Of the milk alternatives soya tasted best to me but usually curdled, some other people may have suggestions as to how to prevent that though.

I have noticed that a lot of people use cream instead of milk, and I'm sure there are cream alternatives that taste good in tea and coffee as well - my experiments didn't get that far!

Reactions: 2 people

noblehead

Guru
Retired Moderator
Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump
Dislikes
Disrespectful people
The lacto-free milk such as the one made by Arla Foods has around half the carbs of standard milk, don't know if this would fit in with your LCHF diet.

Reactions: 6 people

robert72

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
The lacto-free milk such as the one made by Arla Foods has around half the carbs of standard milk, don't know if this would fit in with your LCHF diet.
I use this, although I only have a dash of milk in my tea so don't bother counting it's carbs. Lasts for at least a month too :)

Tourettes

Type of diabetes