Thoughts and worries on my new condition

P17BULL

Type of diabetes
Other
Treatment type
Diet only
It was just 3 days ago. The doctor diagnosed me type 1 and was explaining me how I had to live from now on. Testing blood, one shot insuline per meal, one before bedtime. I was wanting to cry in front of him. The worst and most sad moment was when he told me to choose the colors of the insuline pens. There where so many colors to choose from, and my head was on another planet. Two different colors not to confuse daily and nightly. I knew what I had to face, since my mother too is diabetic (type 2 but now insuline dependent).

In the last days, even before the type 1 diagnosis I changed my eating habits completely. Now I'm studying all the reactions to different foods and to insuline. Of course I'm not happy to be diabetic, but I'm finding this study on myself interesting and fascinating in the end. I even discovered some foods I'm loving that I would never have bought before at the supermarket. I'm having ups and downs psychologically.

Using insuline is not difficult, I got used to it very fast, but the thing that worries me the most is to be accepted from others. Unfortunately I know the general thoughts spreading around through people: we are not just curing something with pills, we are doing injections, and most people find it ugly. I sometimes talked about my mother doing insuline, and many people started quickly to cross their eyes about this argument. It's ignorance in the end, but it's something that scares me. I'm still single by the way, and I fear that this will be a complication in the future, especially when my potential partner knows that it is genetically transmittable.

Did some of you have such feelings?

OHD_Foxy

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump
Dislikes
Stress, Diabetes