Trust Me I'm a Doctor Repeat 4.30 BBC2 today

Tannith

BANNED
Tells you what happens to your arteries when you eat just 50g saturated fat. They contract by 25% for 4 to 6 hours and become inflamed so LDL gets oxidised. Various antioxidant drinks do not improve this effect.

kitedoc

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump
Dislikes
black jelly beans
So - did they check Eskimos on traditional diets to see if the same happens to them?

NicoleC1971

BANNED
Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump
This reminds me of my neighbour who works in haematology and reports seeing fatty acids in people's blood if they had given blood following a high fat meal. That fact does not mean it i s pathological necessarily.
As I understand it damage to the arteries and inflammatory processes are caused by excess glycation/sugars (not sat fat) and oxidative stress e.g. smoking.
Can the sat fat 'block' your arteries when the temperature it must do this at is 37 degrees? My coconut oil melts at much lower than this...
As to sat fat constricting the arteries over a few hours, I am wondering if that was then linked to a higher incidence of heart disease or is this just inferred?
I will watch because I enjoy Trust Me and Dr Mosely!
As far as I am aware this lipid-heart hypothesis has never been proved and the fact that statins are of dubious benefit even though they do definitely reduce LDL, supports the idea that it isn't LDL that is the driver of heart disease. Where disease already exists it is thought that statins help by reducing inflammation rather than LDL although a statin does both.
Whilst I'm here just came across this that ma interest anyone who wants to know about trigs and statins!

https://www.medscape.com/viewarticle/900629_4

Last edited:

Bluetit1802

Legend
Type of diabetes
Treatment type
Diet only