type 1 diabetes and car insurance

sweetjules

Hi I am new to the diabetes forum, but I have been a type 1 diabetic for many years. PLEASE could anyone give me advice on a good car insurance that deals with diabetes and does not cost an arm and a leg. I have recently been looking for upgrading my car as I have had mine for many years and always stayed with the same insurers. I feel now I need to shop around but quotes on insurance websites do not ask about medical conditions. PLEASE HELP.

kegstore

Dislikes
Unnecessary rudeness, and any PC
I was with elephant.co.uk for years with no complaints at all. I went with them primarily because they really were cheapest at the time, by quite a large margin, and I was looking for a multi-car policy with just me driving (I had 3 at the time). They never asked any health questions and this is significant - some companies do not, because health is not a factor on their underwriting criteria which is great. HOWEVER, if you ARE asked (either online or by phone), then FAIL to disclose it, and subsequently make a claim (or someone claims against you) all the usual "no insurance" troubles will follow, and follow you around for years to come.

When I had my hypo while at the wheel, elephant were fantastic and dealt with everything exactly as they should, which was such a relief at the time. Can't recommend them highly enough.

timo2

Dislikes
Glycemic excursions
Hello sweetjules,

It's probably best to sign up over the phone, rather than online. You need to make absolutely sure that the company has taken note of the fact that you're diabetic, so that they can't use it as an excuse not to pay up in the future.

Although they will need to know that you're diabetic, I'm pretty sure that car insurance companies aren't allowed to discriminate against diabetics (charge higher premiums) unless they've previously had an accident which has been specifically attributed to their diabetic control.

All the best,
timo.

jopar

Kegs..