Type 1 having eye surgery tomorrow

Amandamess

Type of diabetes
Type 1
So first time on here today! I have an eye operation in the morning because they can't stop the bleeding in my right eye! Not happy as have to face the floor for 7 days with a ten minute break every hour! Anybody else experienced this and did u get any complications after the operation??? At 32 I've been told this is not good

Amandamess

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Thankyou I have bleeding and possible detached retina and I'm having an artificial lens put in as well! I just hope I don't have a slow or complicated recovery as I am self employed and unable to work and there's me and my little boy at home who depends on me! Thankyou for u help and kind words

azure

Expert
Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump
I have no experience of this but I just want to send you my best wishes. I hope everything goes as smoothly as possible for you in every way.

noblehead

Guru
Retired Moderator
Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump
Dislikes
Disrespectful people
Hi @Amandamess and welcome to the forum.

Hopefully by now you'll be in surgery and through the worst part.

It's around 13 years since I had the Vitrectomy surgery and so far I've had no issues since, the surgery has a very high success rate but they do have to explain to you the risks involved much like any type of surgical procedure.

I had to posture my head for around 10 days post-op and had to administer eye drops for several weeks, the posturing of the head was one of the worst parts but I just used that time as an excuse to catch-up with some DVD's so the time soon passed.