Type 1: High readings

Hi everyone I'm still new to this, so not sure if I'm in the right place on here..... but I'll give it a go! My daughters T1 diagnosed 4 months now n all a been quite good with blood sugars til just b4 Xmas, they now still seem so high all of the time, we've switched to the Aviva Expert meter and ratios are changed slightly but the highest ever this morning was 14.5!? I don't know why? She said her throats a bit sore but they were always so good and around 6/7 but now always over 9/10 throughput the days, and up to 15?? Could anyone please give me some advice? Thankuu

azure

Expert
Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump
@SaraWalker7392 It could be her sore throat possibly. I'd give her DSN a ring for advice.

Blood sugar early on after diagnosis can be erratic because of the honeymoon period and insulin needs can change quite quickly.

himtoo

Retired Moderator
Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump
Dislikes
mean people , gardening , dishonest people , and war.
why can't everyone get on........
Hi @SaraWalker7392

could you perhaps add a bit more information regarding the time frame.

Reading your post above I am thinking your daughters bloods have risen quite a bit in the last 3 and a bit weeks ??

I have a couple of thoughts on this

1 -- did your daughters eating change at all over the Christmas period ( 22nd December to January 2nd )
I know that this time of the year can be more difficult to keep sugars down because there are just that many more opportunities to eat what is on offer including nibbles , buffet type food , and of course chocolate.

2 -- you mention a sore throat -- with any cold or infection our bloods do rise significantly because of the infection.
do have a chat with your daughter's DSN and have a look at sick day rules
link here http://www.leicestershirediabetes.org.uk/438.html

AndyS

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Hi @SaraWalker7392,