Unexpected high sugar hours after eating PLEASE HELP

bethhchapman

Hi,
This is my first time using this so I apologise if this isn’t how I get advice. I was diagnosed with diabetes in December and so I am still learning how to manage it. Today I had an unexpected high blood sugar which I really can’t understand why it would happen so I wondered if someone could help me. I must say that I have a special form of diabetes which means I do produce some insulin just not enough so sometimes I don’t have to inject for everything. Anyway today I injected and had my lunch as usual and then 2 hours later it was at 5 and going down, I had a meeting so wanted to curb it before I went into it I had a very small chocolate bar to ensure I didn’t drop into a hypo at 3pm. After my meeting at 5pm I checked my sugars and they were at 7 and I could see the little peak that the chocolate had made. An hour later I checked my sugars ready to inject for dinner and was alarmed to see that it had risen to 14. I wondered if anyone knew why this may be as this was three hours after eating anything and it wasn’t until the 3rd hour that it actually started to rise like that. I am extremely confused as on my freestyle libre graph I could see a visible small peak where I had eaten the chocolate and at the two hour point it was normal.

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only
Well the sugar came from somewhere and if you hadn't eaten a proper meal then I suspect it was a liver dump. Everyone is used to fasting tests in the morning where the sugar level could be high due to not eating at night but liver dumps can happen at other times too. Eating regular small amounts may prevent it. Yours was a high number and I can only assume that since you hadn't taken your insulin that it looked bad.

bethhchapman

Thank you for replying! I had a full on meal for lunch though I only had the chocolate as a kind of top up could a liver dump still be the explanation?

catinahat

Type of diabetes
Type 2