VLC keytones

Fenn

Type of diabetes
Type 1.5
Treatment type
Insulin
Hi,

I’ve been very low carbing for two and a half weeks, I am getting crazy nice numbers, almost flat lines 100% in the green zone on libre, my keytones are creeping up, they are now at 2.0, I have dropped insulin dose by a massive amount, gone down by half, taking 6 levemir twice a day and novo a couple of units a day, is 2.0 fine? When do I need to worry? Can I be dka if I’m still taking some insulin and numbers are averaging 7-8? (my numbers have been so much worse for so long)

Thankyou

edit, had to drop doses due to sleep time hypos

zand

Master
Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only
Sounds like you are in ketosis and burning fat. Are you losing weight? Is that the plan? If so I reckon all is well, but I'm no expert.

Reactions: Fenn

ert

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Dislikes
diabetes
fasting
Hi,

I’ve been very low carbing for two and a half weeks, I am getting crazy nice numbers, almost flat lines 100% in the green zone on libre, my keytones are creeping up, they are now at 2.0, I have dropped insulin dose by a massive amount, gone down by half, taking 6 levemir twice a day and novo a couple of units a day, is 2.0 fine? When do I need to worry? Can I be dka if I’m still taking some insulin and numbers are averaging 7-8? (my numbers have been so much worse for so long)

Thankyou

edit, had to drop doses due to sleep time hypos
You should only check your ketones if your blood sugars have been over 13 mmol/l for an extended period of time and you are ill and dehydrated. Otherwise you are in nutritional ketosis which is normal for a low carb diet.

Fenn

Type of diabetes
Type 1.5
Treatment type
Insulin
Sounds like you are in ketosis and burning fat. Are you losing weight? Is that the plan? If so I reckon all is well, but I'm no expert.