Weight gain when starting insulin

AnnJohnston

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
This is my first time posting about this. I'm fairly new to the forums. My weight loss had been fairly slow but it was coming off. Been on insulin a week and I've gained 6lbs! My nurse did say I may gain weight as my body will start absorbing glucose again but didn't expect this big a gain not been to gym either though as scared of taking a hypo until I get my insulin levels sorted. Do any of you follow low carb while on insulin?

Last edited by a moderator:
Reactions: Prem51

GrantGam

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
This is my first time posting about this. I'm fairly new to the forums. My weight loss had been fairly slow but it was coming off. Been on insulin a week and I've gained 6lbs! My nurse did say I may gain weight as my body will start absorbing glucose again but didn't expect this big a gain not been to gym either though as scared of taking a hypo until I get my insulin levels sorted. Do any of you follow low carb while on insulin?
Did you have really high BG prior to starting on insulin? If so, the below may apply.

When the body runs with high glucose due to insufficient insulin production/ability to use the insulin - the glucose is excreted from the body in your urine, taking lots of fluids with it. Because the body cannot utilise the glucose for energy, you may burn some fat (as an alternative energy source) also.

You've not really put on 6lb; you've just replaced what was there initially.

There are many insulin dependent diabetics who follow LCHF with great results. Some T2's even manage to stop using insulin altogether.

Reactions: AnnJohnston

AnnJohnston

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Thank you for the advice. My numbers were very high plus I've been eating more carbs than normal so I can get my insulin dose right.

GrantGam

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin