Weight gain

Pinktongue

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
I started on basal bolus insulin last week after being on novomix for 12 years and I'm eating the same as always but I've gained half a stone in a week, is this a common thing?? I'm type 1 and if this is what happens with this insulin then I'm going straight back to my old one

Sent from my iPhone using DCUK Forum

1rnold

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Hi pinktogue can I ask was novomix an mixed insulin ? I was interested as I am on a mixed insulin twice daily and my endcrologist said I need to go on to a basal bolus if I wanted to carb count. I am trying to lose weight as well hence like you I would hate it if it means weight gain. Thanks

Diakat

Expert
Retired Moderator
Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Dislikes
The smell of cigars
Half a stone in a week sounds like a lot. Had you lost weight before diagnosis? I've no experience of mixed insulin, do you have to eat a set number of carbs with that or do you carb count?

1rnold

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Hi I don't have to eat a set number of carbs, they told me to use plate method having quarter carbs quarter protein rest vegetables- I take 18 units of mixed insulin twice per a day. I was interested in carb counting as I thought it may help weight loss but was told I would need to change to a basal bolus insulin however I don't want to gain weight as I have managed to lose over half stone since I was diagnosed in May 2016.

Diakat

Expert
Retired Moderator
Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Dislikes
The smell of cigars
Is the plate method much different to what you are when you were reducing weight?

Pinktongue

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Just to update the weight has gone must have been water weight after a night of heavy drinking lol

Daibell

Master
Type of diabetes
LADA
Treatment type
Insulin