What to have with curry instead of rice

maxjoe121

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only
Hi. I'm new to the low carb I've made cauliflower mash tonight.. taste lovely but not right consistency. I used to eat lots of pasta and rice is there anything I could have instead of those or just cut it out altogether and not bother. Any ideas thankyou

Sent from my SM-G930F using Diabetes.co.uk Forum mobile app

Reactions: Paulax

hankjam

Type of diabetes
Treatment type
Diet only
aubergines and spinach are my favs to have along with a curry and a small amount of carrots with roasted pumpkin seeds.

Mongolia

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only
Cauliflower rice fried in coconut oil. Garlic mushrooms. Spinach with paneer cheese.:hungry:

Reactions: 2 people

AndBreathe

Master
Retired Moderator
Type of diabetes
I reversed my Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only
@maxjoe121 - Depending on a load of factor, I could choose to simply have a bit more curry, or alternatively, cauliflower rice. Like Mongola, I elect to fry it, although in my world, like to do that in the wok, and it makes it really easy to ensure the "rice" has been folded through enough to distribute the heat.

With curry, I would usually add pilau type spices. It's delicious.

GrantGam

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Try brown basmati rice. It's only circa 20g carbs per 100g cooked:) Think it's the Asda stuff I've got in the cupboard.

Grant

bulkbiker

BANNED
Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only
I tend to have chicken tikka with a mushroom bahji or something like that and avoid rice altogether.

Robbity

Expert
Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only
One of my favourite Indian side dishes used to be aloo gobi - dry curried potatoes and cauliflower - I now just have it without the potatoes. :p There are various recipes on Google for this.

Robbity

PS Maybe also search the forum as we've had a previous similar thread about riceless curries.

lovinglife