Who has the expertise in Type 1 and low carb?

AtkinsMo

Type of diabetes
Prediabetes
Treatment type
Diet only
Good Morning

I have a friend who is in danger of losing his toes and in great pain. He has been diabetic for 55 years, since a young man, for many of those years, I think, well managed in terms of standard diabetes management.

His medical team in the UK “Don’t seem to do anything or suggest anything”.

Does anybody have any experience of changing to LCHF at this stage, I could give him advice and guidance on the diet aspect, but I have no knowledge whatsoever of the adjustments to insulin required. I think his current insulin regime is based on experience rather than testing etc, although I know that he does test regularly as he often tells me his readings.

I did think of just saying, join diabetes.co.uk, but I think he might find it a bit overwhelming, I don’t think he’s into forums, Facebook etc.

I have the Bernstein book at home, but I am in Southern Spain for the winter and can’t access it, and I think that maybe he would find it heavy going anyway. He is based in Manchester, he is just here on holiday though it might have to be foreshortened as he is in so much pain.

Does some sort of simple guidance exist of how to plan basal and bolus insulin injections, and how to taper them down as adjusting diet? If somebody has the expertise, I could maybe give him a quick tutorial of forum use and get him to set up an account, for him to be able to get advice from knowledgable and experienced people, but I don’t want to suggest it if it would not be helpful.

tim2000s

Expert
Retired Moderator
Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Other
Hi @AtkinsMo - before suggesting he jumps into that, has he done the DAFNE course or looked at http://www.bertieonline.org.uk?