Why Do I Feel So Sick In the Mornings

AMRROL

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Newbie here. Type 2, on insulin pump with Insuman Infusat. Anyway, for years now, I wake up several times a night and my blood sugars are in the normal range and I feel OK. But when I wake up in the morning, I feel so sick. Kind of a cross between a flu and a hangover. After a few hours, it eases up and I feel normal again. I am curious what causes this. I am so confused. Why do I wake up feeling so ill only to feel better about 2 hours later when my blood sugars rise to an unacceptable level?

I do suffer from dawn phenomenon. Example, when I woke up my reading was 6.4; took my bolus of 9 units, then 30 minutes later my reading was 8.4; I had a piece of toast with butter for breakfast and reading went up to 12.8

ickihun

Master
Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Insulin
Dislikes
Bullies
I'm not on a pump but MDI and I get that when my bgs have been running higher for a while and then I am in the middle of reducing to good levels.
Like a hangover.
I feel hugely better in 9s but I think my body has had so many 9s that it feels 9s is normal.
After a month or so on constant lower bgs if goes away, for me.

Reactions: AMRROL

ickihun

Master
Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Insulin
Dislikes
Bullies
Newbie here. Type 2, on insulin pump with Insuman Infusat. Anyway, for years now, I wake up several times a night and my blood sugars are in the normal range and I feel OK. But when I wake up in the morning, I feel so sick. Kind of a cross between a flu and a hangover. After a few hours, it eases up and I feel normal again. I am curious what causes this. I am so confused. Why do I wake up feeling so ill only to feel better about 2 hours later when my blood sugars rise to an unacceptable level?