Why does my blood glucose reading shoot up so quickly?

test_positive

I am new to this whole thing but have been testing regularly since diagnosed to try and understand what impacts my blood glucose levels. I have been testing 1 1/2 to 2 hours after eating and then using this to help me determine my future diet. But I occasionally get some 'rogue' readings that seem strangely high.

I had one of these yesterday and the only thing I could think of was that I had eaten a kiwi 20 minutes previously.

So today I tested it. Here are the results:
Time Reading
11:10 - 6.7 taken just prior to eating kiwi. Note - nothing eaten for 3 hours prior to this.
11:25 - 7.9
11:40 - 8.7
11:55 - 8.3
12:10 - 7.8

I am really shocked for two reasons - first kiwi's are supposed to be low in carbohydrate (approx 5g); and second that it impacted my blood glucose way before 90 minutes...within 15 minutes my reading had gone up by 1.2! Indeed, I assume if I waited 90mins my reading might have come back to 'normal'. Can't wait that long to see though - I'm hungry! :)

Have others seen such an effect so quickly?
If the reading goes up above 8.5 for maybe 15 minutes is that something to worry about? (I know that some aim for not going above 7.8 but that is out of my reach at the moment)

Now I'm wondering if other food I eat has such an immediate effect and I'm not seeing it because I've been measuring after at least 90 minutes.

hallii

You are getting a bit wound up over nothing really.

My advice is test after two hours of eating and do not eat anything in between. Testing 20 mins after eating anything will see a BG rise.

Any fruit can give a sudden rise in BGs, but if you wait 2 hours it will have gone down, and your readings actually show this.