Windness and fasting

Chronicle_Cat

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only
I have a rather delicate question to ask regarding fasting. Does anyone else experience extra windiness when fasting? I don't have any pain, discomfort, cramps or bloating, it's just noisy on the days I fast (not so much for intermittent fasting).It’s isn’t really a problem but it isn’t socially desirable.

I've been eating low carb for 7 months now and I don't experience this effect after vegetables like cabbage. I don't know it's the fasting or the fact my internal "plumbing" is different than most people's - I had a extended hemicolectomy (the upper 1/2 of my colon removed) for cancer related reasons 2 years ago (no, I don't wear a colostomy bag as I had the top part removed). However I’m not windy at other times, just when fasting.

Anyone else out there experience this when fasting? Are there any others who've had part of their colon removed?

Last edited:

kitedoc

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump
Dislikes
black jelly beans
Hi @Chronicle_Cat, I am glad you are well and hope it remains that way.
A question to help clarify: I assume you still have fluids whilst fasting ? If so, do they include say, low sugar soft drinks? Just thinking that the fizziness can increase wind.
Other wise my guess is that the bowel bugs for some reason are more active whilst you are fasting and 'munch through' residual fibres in your large colon producing the wind.
Whether a supplement of probiotics (bowel bugs) would help reduce the wind by altering the balance of bowel bug types in your colon, maybe ??

Chronicle_Cat

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only
@kitedoc thank you for the reply. I only drink water or black tea when fasting and I never drink diet soda anymore. Probiotics sound like a good idea, my daughter with IBS takes them.